Skip to main content

Application FAQs

The Frequently Asked Questions below are intended to assist with the Regeneron STS application process. To support all entrants and make information accessible, this page will be updated throughout the application process as we identify new and common issues. For questions regarding the history of the program, awards, or other information, please refer to the program website's FAQ page.

  • Who can enter the Regeneron Science Talent Search (Regeneron STS)?
    • Any student who is enrolled in and attending their last year of secondary school in the US and its territories may apply. Also, students who are US citizens living abroad may qualify. Please read the Regeneron STS Rules and Entry Instructions document for more information.
  • Can students who have completed team research enter Regeneron STS?
    • No; only independent, individual research is eligible. Even if students performed different parts of the experiment with another high school student, or if one student was the primary investigator, this is still considered team research. Students may not “split” a team project and enter it in Regeneron STS as individuals. Students also may not within the time between submission to the Regeneron STS in November 2019 and May 2020 combine individual research submitted to Regeneron STS and present it as team research in competition, publications, or any forum.
    • Research conducted alongside adult researchers in a research institution is permitted, but clarity and adequate acknowledgement of an individual’s role and independence vs. work being done by the collective laboratory throughout the application is vital. Consideration should be given to the extent to which the research qualifies as independent research, given the student and adult responsibilities.
  • Can students who have worked with scientist mentors or college students enter Regeneron STS?
    • Yes; these students are eligible to enter Regeneron STS, but in terms of judging, students should consider if the work is substantially their own. Judges understand that sometimes scientists cannot allow students to choose their own topic or sometimes the main part of a procedure is already known. Students should consider what portions of the research they can take credit for and if they believe it shows their potential as a scientist. Students must attest within the application that they have permission to share their research.
  • Can students who have worked with scientist mentors or with college students enter Regeneron STS?
    • Yes; these students are eligible to enter Regeneron STS, but students should consider if the work is substantially their own. Judges understand that sometimes scientists cannot allow students to choose their own topic or sometimes the main part of a procedure is already known. Students should consider what portions of the research they can take credit for and if they believe it shows their potential as a scientist. Students must attest within the application that they have presented their own work and have permission to share their research publicly.
  • Can homeschooled students enter Regeneron STS?
    • Yes. Homeschooled students should contact the Society to have their school added to the high school lookup function, just as other new schools are added. They will also need to provide a document indicating what courses they have completed and their success in those courses, and submit that as a school transcript through their High School Report Recommender.
  • How can I apply?
    • You must apply through this website, https://sciencetalentsearch.fluidreview.com. Entries are only accepted if submitted through our online application system by the established deadline.
    • Be sure to review the checklist available in the Regeneron STS Rules and Entry Instructions document.
  • What’s required to enter Regeneron STS?
    • All entrants must submit their applications online. The application consists of essay questions, questions about your project, a maximum 20-page original scientific paper, recommendations, transcripts and optional test scores. You can learn more about these requirements in the Regeneron STS Rules and Entry Instructions document.
  • Can I preview just the application questions?
    • Yes, you can read a PDF containing the Application Questions 2020, but you must complete an application through our online system. We do not accept hard copies or any version sent to us outside of the system.
  • I am a teacher/mentor/curious adult/future entrant who would like to see the application questions. What should I do?
    • We recommend you download the PDF of this year's application questions here. If you would also like to open an account to test the functionality of the site, we ask that you identify yourself in Task 1 as a non-applicant (multiple choice question). You will still be able to explore the actual online system, but this allows us to keep a true count of open applications and potential entrants.
  • I don’t have official copies of my test scores. What should I upload?
    • If students have official copies of test scores they are preferred. However, we do not require that they be purchased for this application process. Alternatively, student entrants may print unofficial scores from the CollegeBoard/AP/other test administrator’s website, scan and upload those copies. Student entrants are responsible for uploading their own test scores into the application. Test Scores are optional.
  • How should I format my research paper?
    • Please read our Research Report instructional document.
  • Do I need to complete my application in one sitting?
    • No, you may work on your application in pieces and save your work until you are ready to submit. We do recommend saving your essays in a Word document for safe keeping in case you experience problems with your internet provider.
    • If you try to save a page that has required fields, and have not yet completed the required fields, you will receive a message warning you about the required fields. You will still be able to save the page. You will not, however, be able to submit the page or Task without completing the required fields. When a Task is fully submitted, it changes from blue to green on your Task list in the internal home page.
  • Can I continue to edit my application after I hit "Submit"?
    • We encourage applicants to submit as soon as they have completed most of the application, preferably well before the deadline. This will give you peace of mind knowing your application has been submitted. You should receive a confirmation email to let you know that your submission has been received.
    • You may continue to edit your application after you hit submit, up until the November 13, 2019 at 8pm Eastern Time deadline. As long as you save the section, your changes will be implemented. You do not need to "resubmit" (in fact, there will not be an option to do so). You can confirm your changes were made by downloading your submission.
  • When I preview one of my uploaded PDFs, I cannot see anything. Help! How do I know it's really in the system?
    • This happens on occasion and is usually fixed by clearing your cache. Either way, you can check to make sure your file is included in your submission by downloading your full submission from the internal home page. Click the "download submission" button above the blue progress bar.
  • I don’t see my school listed in Task 1. Help!
    • Never fear. Just email us at sts@societyforscience.org and we are happy to add your school to the site.
  • I am curious if my research project is eligible for STS. How can I learn more?
    • First, read our Regeneron STS Rules and Entry Instructions document and complete the Regeneron STS Rules Decision Chart here. If you are still unsure, email us at sts@societyforscience.org.
  • What type of approval paperwork do I need to share with Regeneron STS?
    • If you worked with vertebrate animals, humans and/or tissue, you likely will need to share some approvals and documentation within your application. Inside your online application, the fourth task will ask you a series of questions that determine what paperwork you need to share.
    • If you are asked to share IRB approvals, IACUC approvals or wildlife permits, make sure they are signed and completed properly! If they are not, your project may fail to qualify.
    • If you are asked to share surveys and informed consent, make sure they are redacted or not completed by any participant. Do not share any participant data.
  • What type of recommendations do I need?
  • Here are a few tips for requesting your recommendations:
    • We recommend that you request your recommendations the day you open your application to allow your recommenders plenty of time.
    • Talk to or email your recommenders to ask them if they would be willing to complete a recommendation on your behalf. Let them know that they should anticipate an auto-email from our online system-- the sender name will be "Regeneron Science Talent Search."
    • It is your responsibility to remind your recommenders to submit their recommendations before the deadline. We cannot accept any portions of the application, including recommendations, after the application deadline.
    • Recommendations are due on the same day as the student application—November 13, 2019 at 8pm Eastern Time.
    • If you would like to replace recommenders after you have made your initial request, check with the recommender you would like to delete (or with the Society) before you delete them to add a new user. If the recommender has already submitted a recommendation, you will also be deleting their recommendation we will not be able to recover this data.
  • My recommender did not receive their auto-email regarding my recommendation. What should I do?
    • First, ask them to check their spam folder. Most of the time they will find the email there and will be able to activate their accounts.
    • If they still cannot locate the message, double check the email address you entered for them in our application system. Sometimes typos are made that prevent the recipient from receiving the message. You will be able to correct this type of error in the system.
    • If this does not work, please ask your recommender to contact sts@societyforscience.org.
  • How will I know if my recommender has submitted their recommendation?
    • You should receive an auto-email every time a recommender submits on your behalf. If you are unsure, or are afraid that your auto-email has landed in spam or was not sent, please feel free to email sts@societyforscience.org and we will be happy to check for you.
  • Should I wait to submit my application until after my recommenders have completed their recommendations?
    • No, do not wait. Recommenders will be able to submit their recommendations up until the Application Deadline even after you submit your application.
  • Should my High School Report recommender wait to submit my transcripts until my first quarter grades are listed?
    • No, first quarter grades are not necessary. Please request transcripts early in the process through the High School Report recommendation from your guidance counselor.
  • Do I need to ask the head of lab to complete my Project Recommendation?
    • No. The best person to complete your project recommendation is the adult who worked most closely with you and can speak to your research and knows you the best. This is most often a graduate student, teacher, etc. but certainly could also be the head of lab.
  • Who should complete my Educator Recommendation?
    • A teacher who knows you in a classroom setting should write one of your Educator Recommendations; ideally, from a science class. If you choose to request a second Educator Recommendation, you may ask another teacher from any discipline, or a supportive adult from another area of your life who can speak to your character and your performance as a learner—a coach, boss, band director, youth group leader, scout leader, etc.
  • Can the same person fill out more than one of my recommendations?
    • Yes. For example, if your research mentor is also your teacher, you may request one educator recommendation and one project recommendation from that person. In that case, students should consider requesting another educator recommendation from a different teacher, even if that teacher does not know the student as well.
  • Can a parent complete a recommendation?
    • Yes; if the parent fits the description of the recommender type. In these instances, students should consider requesting an additional educator or project recommendation from another person, even though that person may not have as much to contribute to the recommendation.
  • Can I request more than one of each type of recommendation?
    • Yes; this is not required, but an applicant may request a second Project and Educator recommendation. The option to request a second type of recommendation appears at the bottom of your “task” list (above the “Submit” button).
  • My high school recommender is having trouble uploading my transcript. What should they do?
    • The Society no longer accepts mailed transcripts; all transcripts must be uploaded by the high school recommender in the online application. If your high school recommender is having trouble with our system, or has an issue with this new rule, please ask them to contact sts@societyforscience.org as soon as possible.
  • What happens if my recommender forgets or does not submit my recommendation before the deadline?
    • We cannot accept recommendations after the deadline, but your application will still be considered. It is difficult for our evaluators and judges to review your application without your transcripts and recommendations. Remember to remind your recommenders if the due date is near and you have not yet received an email from our online system notifying you that the recommendation is complete.
  • I have transcripts from summer courses or community college. How can I share these items in my application?
    • You will need to provide your high school counselor with these documents, and they will need to upload them into the High School Report recommendation.
  • I need to change one of my recommenders. What should I do?
    • In your "Task List" click to view the recommendation you originally requested. You will have the option to delete the recommender request. If you choose to delete this request, then the individual you originally asked will no longer have access to the online system, and you will be able to enter information for a new recommender.
    • Note: the order in which you request your recommendations does not appear to judges or evaluators or recommenders, and does not matter in the review process. Do not delete recommenders to swap the order.
    • Warning: do not delete a recommender in order to “swap” out another person unless you are absolutely certain that the original recommender you plan to delete has not submitted a recommendation. Please check with the Society first. If you delete the recommender, and it happens that the recommender has already submitted, then you will have deleted their recommendation and we are unable to recover it.
  • I did not have a project mentor, I worked independently. Do I still need a project recommendation?
    • Yes; you will still need to request a project recommendation in order to submit your application. We ask that you request this recommendation from a teacher or another type of adult who, while they may not know the ins and outs of your research, can speak to your abilities as a scientist.
  • I'm a recommender. When I log into my account, I can see the names of students who have requested recommendations from me, but I cannot access the actual form. Help!
    • You will need to email sts@societyforscience.org to let us know. This issue arises occasionally if the recommender has opened a test application to see the content required of students. Our staff will need to remove your test account so that you have full access to the recommendation forms (we will need to do this for you, withdrawing your application will not resolve the issue). We still encourage you to explore the student application, but you will need to do so using a different email address.
  • I'm a recommender. I received recommendation requests from multiple students via email, but when I log into my account I can only see requests from some of them, not all. What's wrong?
    • There are two possible issues. First, check your email to see which email account(s) the students have contacted through our system. Sometimes a recommender will receive requests under multiple email addresses, and in those cases you will have separate accounts. The other potential issue is student-driven. Occasionally students will delete recommendation requests for various reasons. If you log into your account and do not see a request or a student listed, contact your student to verify which email address they entered for the request, and ask if their request is still active. You can also email sts@societyforscience.org for troubleshooting issues.
  • When are recommendations due?
    • All recommendations are now due by the student application deadline—Wednesday, November 13, 2019 at 8pm ET. No materials or recommendations will be accepted past this deadline. We recommend submitting early to avoid technical issues.
  • When is the deadline?
    • The deadline is Wednesday, November 13, 2019 at 8pm Eastern Time. No exceptions will be made. All parts of the application must be received by the Society by this date and time, including transcripts and recommendations.
  • The Technical Support deadline is Tuesday, November 12 at 8pm Eastern Time.
    • If you have technical difficulties, please contact the Society at sts@societyforscience.org. All requests for assistance must be submitted prior to the Technical Support Deadline in order to guarantee resolution.
  • I have a special exception; will you accept my application after the deadline?
    • Unfortunately, we cannot accept any application after the November 13, 2019 deadline at 8pm Eastern Time, no exceptions. You should aim to submit your application well before the Technical Support Deadline on November 12, 2019 at 8pm Eastern Time in case you experience any problems; this way you have allowed yourself enough time to resolve them.
  • My recommender missed the deadline; can they still submit?
    • No. All pieces and parts, including recommendations, must be submitted by 8pm ET on November 13, 2019. We cannot make any exceptions. Please remind your recommenders.